Bidding and Buying

Watching an Item

To watch an item, you will need to be logged into your account. Just hit the ‘Add to Watchlist’ button on the product page and all items watched will appear under Watchlist.

Bidding

Once logged into your account, find the item you wish to bid on. The minimum amount for the next bid will be automatically displayed in the ‘Bid’ button, if you wish to enter a higher bid then simply enter the desired amount. You should enter the highest amount you would be willing to pay for that amount. The website will automatically bid on your behalf up to your maximum amount.

Please note that the amount you enter is the hammer price and does not include Buyers’ Premium and GST (if applicable).

Bid Confirmation Notice

Each time you successfully bid on an item an automated email will be sent to your email address.

Outbid

The website will automatically bid on your behalf up to your nominated maximum bid amount. When you are outbid, you will be notified by email. If there is a proxy bid on an item, and your bid matches the maximum of the proxy, then the proxy will remain the current bid. To beat the proxy an additional bid will need to be made.
When you place a bid on an item you may be outbid immediately. This is because someone else has entered a higher maximum bid amount than you.

Reserve Price

Some auctions may be listed with a reserve, which is a hidden minimum price on their item. This amount is the minimum price the club is willing to accept for the item. You will be able to see from the product page whether or not the reserve has been met. If the reserve is not met, the item is passed in. To win the item you must meet or exceed the reserve price and have the highest bid.

Overtime Bidding

Please note that auctions may utilise overtime bidding. This means if a successful bid is placed within 5 minutes of the scheduled closing time of an auction, then the auction will go into overtime. Auction overtime results in the closing time for the auction being reset to 5 minutes from the time the bid was recorded. An auction will continue to be extended until there are no further bids for a continuous 5-minute period.

Buy Now

Items which display the ‘Buy Now’ option can be purchased immediately for the nominated price, without the need to wait until the auction ends. The Buy Now option is only shown on listings until an item receives a bid of or above the Buy Now price.

Buyer’s Premium

All auction items offered by the website are subject to a buyer’s premium. The buyer’s premium is an additional fee traditionally charged by auction houses on the sale of goods. It is added to the winning bid price and is payable by the buyer as part of the total sale price.

Most traditional auction houses charge a buyer’s premium of between 10 and 20 percent of the sales price to cover their costs for services that are essential for successful auctioning of unique items. It is by virtue of this buyer’s premium that the website is able to list online, high quality items that would otherwise only be offered at live auctions.

All online auction bid prices on the website are shown exclusive of the buyer’s premium. The buyer’s premium is shown separately and will be added to your bid price. This then becomes the total amount that you will be required to pay should you win the auction.

End of Auction Emails

When an auction ends, every bidder is notified by automatic email. If you are the successful bidder, the email will include instructions on how to proceed to complete the transaction.

Retracting a Bid

It is important to remember that every online auction bid is a legally binding contract. However, in certain exceptional circumstances, the website does permit the retraction of an online auction bid. An instance of where you would be able to retract a bid is if you accidentally entered a wrong bid amount. For example, you inadvertently recorded 12,000 rather than 120.

It is on the other hand not acceptable to retract a bid if you simply change your mind about the item, decided you could not afford the item or have realised that you have bid more than you planned.

When you retract a bid, you will eliminate all bids you have placed in that online auction. Therefore if you are retracting to correct a bidding error, you will have to enter any required bids again. Bid retraction applications can be made by using the ‘Contact Us’ button at the bottom of the page.

Repeated bid retraction will result in an investigation. Members may not abuse the bid retraction facility, particularly to retract bids that we’re placed only to find out the highest proxy bid.

Where is my item?

If you have made your payment and received a confirmation email that the payment has been successfully processed, and you are still awaiting the receipt of your item, please contact the Club, directly to find out their timeline on postage.

Collecting your Item

If you elected to collect your winning auction item, and you have received your payment confirmation email, we recommend you contact the Club, to confirm an available time to pick up your winning item.

Payments

Payments can be processed online using your credit card, or by making a direct bank transfer payment to the bank details provided at checkout. Online payments are processed immediately, however if you choose to pay by bank transfer please wait up to 7 days before the items shows as marked within your account.

SportsTG processes all payments in relation to auction items. If you have had a problem making a payment or have not received your email confirmation of payment received please contact SportsTG on support@sportstg.com

 

Supporting